If law enforcement stopped and arrested you for the possession of cocaine in Mississippi, you face harsh consequences. Though cocaine was once an unregulated drug, today, Mississippi and every other state classify the substance as one of the more dangerous controlled substances one can use. If convicted of cocaine possession, a judge may sentence you to jail time and hefty fines.
According to FindLaw, Mississippi classifies controlled substances into one of five schedules. Schedule I drugs are the most dangerous, as the state considers them the most addictive, while the state considers Schedule V drugs the least addictive and therefore the least dangerous. Schedule I drugs include substances such as heroin and marijuana, while Schedule V drugs include substances such as alprazolam and pregabalin. Cocaine is a Schedule II drug.
Possession of cocaine means you have the controlled substance in your possession for the purpose of your own use. You do not have the intent to sell it. The penalty for possession depends on the amount of the substance you had on your person or property at the time of arrest.
If you possessed less than 0.1 gram of coke, the state would charge you with a misdemeanor. If convicted, you face up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. If you had up to two grams on your person or property at the time of arrest, the state may charge you with felony, which is punishable by up to three years in prison and up to $50,000 in fines. Possession of between two and 10 grams carries a penalty of up to eight years and a fine of up to $250,000. If you have between 10 and 30 grams on your person or property at the time of arrest, you face up to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $500,000. If you had more than 30 grams on you at the time of arrest, the state will try you for drug trafficking.
This article is for educational purposes only. You should not use it as legal advice.